Middle School Writing Sample: Short Story

Here is a sample of a clever, short story written by a middle school student:

The Last Day of School

I sat in my desk, sweat dripping down my face. I shut my eyes tight, then opened them. I looked at my watch: 11:27. Three minutes! Three minutes until I heard a sound, a sound that would set me free for three months of total nothingness. Ms. Smith rambled on about pi and figuring out percentages. 11:28. I stared at my watch.  looked as the seconds ticked down to freedom from SCHOOL! 11:29:50. 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, 0 BRRRIIINNNGGG! The bell rang! I pulled on my backpack, tore out of the room, sprinted down the stairs,  sped down the hallway, and bounded out the door. I dashed home and picked up a snack. I popped in a DVD, turned on the TV, and relaxed. Ahhh, what a glorious day!

�
About englishteacherextraordinaire

I'm an English teacher extraordinaire who loves to incorporate technology in creative ways in the classroom. So I created this blog as a tool for teaching.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

